Leave a comment

I Want to Be Liberated!


Matthew 11 YokeWhen most people think of yokes, they think about something that binds them in oppression or servitude. It is a negative thought. When a yoke is used in farming, it is used to bind two animals together so that they can work together getting more done, easing the work load.

Matthew 11:28-30
28 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. 29 Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. 30 For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

When Jesus talks about the yoke in Matthew 11:28-30, he is talking about a yoke that unites us together with him – our life with His life, our will with His Will, our heart with His heart. Jesus also says that his yoke is easy. Easy in the Greek can also mean “well-fitting”. Yokes were made to fit the oxen well. We are commanded to put on the yoke of Jesus so we can live an easier and happier life.

No burden is too heavy for our Lord. When we live yoked with Him, he carries our burdens with us and gives us His strength to follow in his way. This yoke liberates us from the burden of guilt and disobedience. Jesus used the analogy of a yoke to explain how we can exchange the burden of sin and despair for a yoke of glory, freedom and joy. Let us submit to the yoke of Christ so we can have the grace, power and freedom to live in love, peace and joy.

“Lord, help me to exchange the yoke of rebellion for your sweet yoke of submission to You. Help me to set aside my rebellion and pride that I many wholly desire what is good and in accord with your will.”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

