1 Comment

God is the Potter – We are His Clay


Potter Manipulating Clay on WheelThere is an old favorite hymn called “Have Thine Own Way, Lord”. The first verse of that hymn is taken from Jeremiah 18:6 where God says that He is the Potter and we are His clay. Here are the lyrics:

Have thine own way, Lord! Have thine own way!
Thou art the potter, I am the clay.
Mold me and make me after thy will,
while I am waiting, yielded and still.

The scripture readings for this coming Sunday, February 10th (the Sunday before Lent), are
Isaiah 6:1-2a,3-8
1 Corinthians 15:1-11
Luke 5:1-11

In each of these passages, the men admitted to being sinful men:

In Isaiah, he says “Woe is me, I am doomed! For I am a man of unclean lips, living among a people of unclean lips…”

In 1 Corinthians, Paul says “For I am the least of the Apostles, not fit to be called an apostle, because I persecuted the church of God.”

In Luke, Simon says “Depart from me Lord, for I am a sinful man.”

In each of these cases, God met them right where they were and, with their cooperation, transformed them into mighty servants for the Kingdom of God. Isaiah became a great prophet for God; Simon, who Christ renamed Peter, became head of Christ’s church here on earth; and Paul became the greatest evangelist to the Gentiles there ever was.

I believe in the same way, Christ wants to change us also. He wants to meet us right where we are in our sinful state and transform us and use us to serve Him and His Kingdom here on earth. He doesn’t want us to sit around doing nothing. He wants us to serve in whatever way he gave us talents for.

Below is an excerpt from my church’s missal, I thought it was a beautiful picture of what Christ did in the life of Simon Peter.

Simon Peter begins a more sure relationship with Jesus by allowing him to take command of his boat. He then moves to allowing Jesus to take command of his heart, openly confessing the truth about himself (“I am a sinful man”). Finally, he allows Jesus to take command of his whole life (“left everything and followed him”). Like Peter, we are to allow Jesus to take command of us – our possessions, our hearts, our lives. At the same time, we receive all – more than even an abundant “catch of fish,” we receive Life.

Below is a youtube selection of “Have Thine Own Way Lord” for you to enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ioJf4EpVdU8

One comment on “God is the Potter – We are His Clay

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

